July – Disability Pride Month is an opportunity to honor the history, achievements, experiences, and struggles of the disability community, and to promote visibility and mainstream awareness of the positive pride felt by those within it.

Disability Pride Month

Individuals with disabilities have faced centuries of prejudiced assumptions, negative stereotypes, and unjustified fears. This stigma surrounding disabilities has led to the social and economic exclusion of generations of Americans with disabilities. Similar to other marginalized groups, people with disabilities have endured centuries of severe impoverishment. We hope that below information will help you become a better ally.

why does it matter?

With the landmark federal civil rights law, Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) that passed in 1990, Disability Month is celebrated every year in July. We use this month to promote visibility and bring awareness of the pride of those within the disability community.

What is Ableism?

Ableism is a set of beliefs or practices that discriminates against people with physical, intellectual, or psychiatric disabilities. Ableism includes a belief that disabled people need to be “fixed”.

Take Action

Reach out to your elected officials. Get involved in the disability rights movements by educating your elected officials.
Donate to the Arc which has been at the forefront of positive change in disability rights by creating policy, programs, and possibilities for people with IDD (intellectual or developmental disability).

The Disability Pride Month Flag

The flag colors are unique and are a direct representation of the community which focuses on Inclusion.

  • Charcoal gray background: In memory of the victims of ableist abuse and violence, including children or those killed, suicides, or individuals who suffered from negligence.
  • Diagonal band: Cutting across the barriers blocking people with disabilities from full participation, integration, and inclusion in society
  • Red stripe: Physical disabilities (chronic pain/fatigue, mobility impairment, loss of limbs)
  • Gold stripe: Neurodivergence (autism, ADHD, dyslexia)
  • White stripe: Undiagnosed and invisible disabilities.
  • Blue stripe: Psychiatric disabilities (depression, PTSD, anxiety, etc.)
  • Green stripe: Sensory disabilities (hearing loss, visual impairments, etc.)